Connect with us

Video Game Awards

WoW, Doom, Super Mario Bros Inducted into Video Game Hall of Fame



Video Game Hall of Fame

Pong, Pac-Man, Tetris, Super Mario Bros., Doom, and World of Warcraft are the first games to be inducted into the World Video Game Hall of Fame.

Established by the Strong National Museum of Play, the World Video Game Hall of Fame recognizes “individual electronic games of all types– arcade, console, computer, handheld, and mobile — that have enjoyed popularity over a sustained period and have exerted influence on the video game industry or on popular culture and society in general.”

DON’T MISS: Top 10 Most Influential Video Games of All Time

World of Warcraft, Super Mario Bros., Pong, Pac-Man, Tetris and Doom were selected from a group of fifteen finalists that also included Angry Birds, FIFA, The Legend of Zelda, Minecraft, The Oregon Trail, Pokemon, The Sims, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Space Invaders. All six will be put on permanent display within the museum’s eGameRevolution area.

Nominations for games are accepted openly; however, finalists are selected “on the advice of journalists, scholars, and other individuals familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.”

What games do you think should be inducted in the World Video Game Hall of Fame, and why?

TM Hair Fibers Ad